Passwords that are used to access remote servers can be reset or changed using the Access Control view's Change/Reset Password button.
Only users with a specific Access Control permission (Add/Modify/Delete Users, Roles, and LDAP Profiles) can change their own passwords and also reset other user passwords. Users without this permission can only change their own password. Passwords are reset to a temporary auto-generated string of characters, numbers, and symbols, which can and should be changed.
Take the following steps to change or reset a password.
- Go to the Access Control view/User tab.
- From the Users section, select the user to which you wish to change or reset the password.
If changing your own password, you should have your user name selected. The Change Password button is enabled.Note: Changing your own password will log you out of the server.If you are resetting another user's password, you should have that user selected. The Reset Password button is enabled.
- From the User Details section, click the Change/Reset Password button.
To change your own password, complete the Change Password screen.For a password reset (resetting another user's password), a reset confirmation screen appears.After clicking Yes, a new temporary password will be provided, as shown here.You have ability to copy the password to a clipboard. This makes it easy to provide the user with the new password, such as through e-mail, etc. As this is a system-generated temporary password, users may want to immediately change their temporary password to something easier to remember or per your Company's policy.Note: If you do not copy, you must record the new password before clicking OK, as it will not be displayed again.